Wussy – Forever Sounds

  • DAMNABLY038 – Wussy – Dropping Houses
Artist: Wussy
Title: Forever Sounds

Release Date: 11 March 2016
Catalogue No.: DAMNABLY038
Format: [CD/DL]


Buy via iTunes Buy Now (CD)
1. Dropping Houses (Walker, Cleaver)
2. She’s Killed Hundreds (Cleaver)
3. Donny’s Death Scene (Walker)
4. Gone (Cleaver)
5. Hello, I’m a Ghost (Cleaver)
6. Hand of God (Walker)
7. Sidewalk Sale (Cleaver)
8. Better Days (Cleaver, Walker)
9. Majestic-12 (Walker)
10. My Parade (Cleaver)

Forever Sound is the 6th album from Cincinnati’s Wussy, and the second to be released in the UK following the 2012 compilation Buckeye and 2014’s Attica!. These 10 new tracks were recorded at John Curley’s (Afghan Whigs) Ultrasuede Studios, and mastered by Dave Davis at QCA, both of Cincinnati, Ohio.

Following the band’s first national TV appearance (CBS) in 2014 and increased critical acclaim from the likes of Pitchfork & Spin, Wussy’s newest LP Forever Sounds finds the band crafting some of its most raw and melodic material to date, exploring such themes as hauntings, false prophets, aliens, and The Big Lebowski… all blanketed inside layers of noise. The effect is equally jagged and serene, a blend of singable Americana and “arena-drone”.


To certain fans of Lucinda Williams, Crazy Horse, Mekons and R.E.M., Wussy became the best band in America almost instantaneously with the launch of their cult classic debut, Funeral Dress, in 2005…The Cincinnati quintet’s upcoming sixth album, Forever Sounds (out March 4 via Damnably/Shake It Records) is their most challenging and densely textured to date…America’s best songwriting band might now be among its best soundscaping ones SPIN

As a member of Cincinnati’s underrated alternative-nation outfit the Ass Ponys, Chuck Cleaver was already an Ohio rock hero when he and Lisa Walker started Wussy about a decade ago. The latter band is now a cult favorite in its own right; from the first track on their first album, Walker and Cleaver have consistently conjured raw, mesmerizing vocal duets over straightforward rock ‘n’ roll that always seems to find new feelings in old sounds. They’re back this year with their sixth LP, Forever Sounds, and lead single “Dropping Houses” dropped yesterday. It’s a swaggering, bleary, distorted churn topped off by another virtuoso vocal duet from Walker and Cleaver.Stereogum