Glorytellers – Current Resident

  • Glorytellers – Current Resident
Artist: Glorytellers
Title: Current Resident

Release Date: 20th April 2013
Catalogue No.: DAMNABLY024
Format: [CD][DL]

1. You Ain’t On Your Way to Hell
2. Posthumously
3. Electric Spire
4. Barely Born
5. No Vacancies
6. Rekindle
7. New T-Shirt
8. So long Before Her Grave

This is the 3rd outing from Geoff Farina’s acoustic outfit Glorytellers. Current Resident reflects Geoff’s recent move from Boston to Chicago, and his continued journey into American roots music with the help of Chicago locals Kenneth P.W. Rainey on mandolin and Riley Broach on double bass, as well as the heartfelt violin of Jean Cook (better known for her work with John Langford, Ida, and William Parker). Although some of this quartet’s unique string arrangements would not seem out of place on Norman Blake’s Original Underground Music from the Mysterious South, Glorytellers still echo 90s “indie” bands like Ida, Seam, Codeine, and Bedhead, and never quite betray their 90s indie rock roots.

The 8 songs that constitute Current Resident will be released digitally, and on limited edition CD via Damnably Records in Europe and Afterhours in Japan.